Glossary

Momentum

Le momentum est un terme communément utilisé en sport et s’applique à l’état d’esprit d’une équipe ou d’un joueur. Les succès boostent la confiance en soi d’un joueur, il se sent fort, croit en ses capacités et peut augmenter son niveau grâce à cette mentalité positive.

Dans les tournois de poker, le momentum fait partie des facteurs importants qui décident d’une victoire ou d’une défaite. Un joueur qui a doublé son tapis plusieurs fois en peu de temps a ce qu’on appelle un momentum positif. Cette tendance lui permet de se sentir plus fort, de jouer en confiance, de dominer la table et donc de continuer à faire grossir son tapis.

Le momentum peut aussi avoir des effets négatifs sur un joueur. Un joueur de poker qui subit une période de poisse peut expérimenter ce phénomène: il ne se rappelle pas avoir eu un tableau favorable récemment. Cela peut mener à un manque de concentration et donc de mauvaises décisions voire de mauvais changements de stratégie. La perte de confiance due à la baisse du pourcentage de mains gagnées rend difficile la sortie de cette spirale négative. Le joueur pensera toujours perdre le prochain coin flip, que le prochain tirage monstre n’arrivera jamais, et que la prochaine session de jeu sera une énième déception. Un momentum négatif peut avoir des répercussions à long terme sur les décisions d’un joueur.

Les joueurs ne devraient pas laisser les décisions passées influer sur leur état d’esprit. Un joueur qui subit un momentum négatif doit accepter la situation, aller de l’avant et ne plus penser aux défaites passées auxquelles il ne peut plus rien.

Learn Online Poker at PokerStrategy.com

Long term online poker success with winning strategies – register for free!

The best strategies With the correct strategy, poker becomes an easy game. Our authors show you how to succeed, one step at a time.

The smartest thinkers Learn from and with internationally successful poker pros, in our live coaching sessions and in the forum.

Free poker money PokerStrategy.com is free of charge. Additionally there is free poker money waiting for you.

You are already a PokerStrategy.com member? Log in here!

Glossary

Momentum

Momentum is a commonly used term in sports and refers to the mental state of a team or a player. Successes boost the self-esteem of a player, he feels strong, believes in his abilities and can even increase his level of performance with this positive mindset.

In poker tournaments the momentum is often among the decisive factors between victory and defeat. A player who managed to double his stack multiple times in a short period of time has positive momentum on his side. These successes make him feel stronger, enabling him to play confidently, dominate the table and keep building his stack.

The momentum can also have negative effects on a player. A poker player experiencing a downswing will know this phenomenon: He can't seem to remember the last time that the board helped him. This can lead to wrong decisions due to a lack of concentration and incorrect adjustments to his game. It is difficult for him to put an end to the negative series of events since his self-confidence is continuously decreasing with the win rate. The player expects the next coin flip to go wrong, the next monster draw not to arrive and the next session to be another unsuccessful one. A negative momentum can have a long-term impact on the decisions of a player.

Players should not let past decisions have a negative effect on their mindset. A player who is experiencing negative momentum has to accept the current situation, look ahead and make new decisions without giving any thought to irreversible losses from the past.