small pairs in late stages

• dubadal
      dubadal
      Bronze
      hi,

i started playing more 3-6$ MTTs lately, especially 90-180 player sngs. Im technically on a short BR (20-40 BI), so getting ITM is cruicial. Im not scared money though.

Anyhow, I got a feeling that I'm misplaying a lot of times my small pairs (22-88) in later stages of tournaments, when most stacks are around 20BB-. Due to low BI level players still continue to donk a lot. It doesn't really help, as with a small pair Im a flip at best against 40% range.

What is advisable to do with small pairs in early-mid positions preflop with no action behind or min raises, when Im on short-average stack?

Currently Im mixing limp-folding and raise-folding mostly. No problems with CF or CR on flop, if I hit-miss.

Any post references are welcome. But Im really looking for oppinions.

P.S. Braggingrights: donked my way to 5th place in 2$ mtt with 5k people yesterday, which kinda made me seriously consider some of my moves with small pairs
  • 6 replies
    • Tiltberger
      Tiltberger
      Bronze
      hey dubadal

don't play 90-180 sngs with just 40 buyins. There is a big chance that you'll lose your whole bankroll. Switch to normal sngs with 50+ und build your bankroll or move down the limits to have 100 buyin or more for 90 player sngs fx.

short: 15-20 bb openpushing > openraising. Openpushing low-mid pps is the best solution. Its not readable and Villains do not call with 22+66. So when you push 22 with 15 bbs from utg you get 22, 33, 44, 55, 66 and sometimes 77 or 88 to fold behind you. When you get called there is a good chance that you'll flip.

don't openraise small pps till 88+ with 20-25bb from early positions. Its -ev because villains in these limits tend to call openraises ip a LOT and with overcards on the board a contination bet won't work often enough and you'll constantly lose chips in these spots.
    • dubadal
      dubadal
      Bronze
      thanks for the reply!