Road to Nowhere

• brett1985
      brett1985
      Bronze
      The title kind of sums up my poker career thus far. I started playing in June with friends, knowing nothing about the game. Since then I have bought books, watched strategy videos and read websites for information on poker.

I started on ***poker with just a $10 deposit. After winning a freeroll $50 and coming top ten in several more I built up my bankroll. After several sit and goes it hit a peak of $152

I then did a promotion on CDPoker and got $100 free. Playing sit and goes I managed to hit $200 before a mixture of bad beats and tilt meant I lost it all. That was a learning experience and playing is the best way to learn.

Then I joined here at PokerStrategy.com, got the $50 and started out with SSS. After Hitting a peak of $105 I dropped to $73. I would recommend this strategy to any beginner but for me I just wanted to build a bankroll and I have found that efficiency wise this strategy wasn't getting me to the place I wanted to be even playing 12 tables flawlessly.

Ideally I want to be able to mix it playing $5 buyin sit and goes and when my bankroll can sustain it, $10, $20 and $50. Without wishing to sound arrogant I feel I have the ability to make these profitable but simply don't have the bankroll to overcome any nasty variance at these levels. Nonetheless I have decided to take my $90 on party poker and play some $10 buyins hoping to make some real progress.

Like the title says I feel that for a while I have been going nowhere in terms of bankroll especially in proportion to the amount of theory I have absorbed. I need a breakthrough!
  • 10 replies
    • chenny8888
      chenny8888
      Bronze
      really bad idea. as you said the variance on SnG is vicious and you do need the required 50 buy-ins to be able to pull it off.

Or else a couple of bad beats will really just get you
    • Puschkin81
      Puschkin81
      Bronze
      Originally posted by brett1985