[NL2-NL10] NL2 AQs tpgk in 3bet pot

• member001
      Hi all. This is my first post here, having lurked for a while. Thanks to everyone who contributes, for such a great learning resource. I started playing poker earlier this year and no doubt am still making many foolish mistakes, so please point out anything I'm doing wrong and I will not be at all offended!

Known players:

0.01/0.02 No-Limit Hold'em (8 handed)
      Hand recorder used for this poker hand: Elephant 0.85 by www.pokerstrategy.com.

Preflop: Hero is UTG2 with A:spade: , Q:spade:
      Hero raises to $0.08, 3 folds, CO raises to $0.20, 3 folds, Hero calls $0.12.

Flop: ($0.43) A:club: , 7:spade: , 5:diamond: (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.28, CO calls $0.28.

Turn: ($0.99) 3:heart: (2 players)
      Hero checks, CO checks.

River: ($0.99) K:spade: (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.2, CO folds, Hero gets uncalled bet back.

Final Pot: $0.99

No particular reads on villain other than the stats above.

Preflop - was it ok to call the raise here, or should I always either reraise or fold given that I am out of position? I feel too nervous to reraise AQs and play a huge pot, but it feels like I am being weak if I fold such a hand. Or is this attitude a common beginner mistake and I should get over it and either have the confidence to raise, or fold?

Flop - my thinking was: if I check, he will certainly cbet given the strength he has shown, and then I will have to fold because I have no idea where I stand (and I can easily be dominated by AK here). So I decide to bet first in the hope that his JJ-KK, weak suited ace or air hand will fold. My plan was that if he calls, I give up on the hand and go into check/fold mode. Does this make sense or is there a better line here?

Turn - after he calls on the flop I assume I am behind to his AK or better, so I check and get ready to click the "fold" button. Then surprisingly he checks behind.