Poker rules: Player turns up and mucks a hand when there are players left to act.

    • Styr
      Joined: 11.03.2009 Posts: 408
      What should be the correct judgement in this situation:

      The river has been dealt and player A places a bet. Player B then re-raises player A, and turns both of his cards over and places them into the muck before player A can act.

      Does this situation:
      *simply give an advantage to player A in his decision, whether to fold, call, or re-raise player B?
      *mean that player B has folded his hand, and player A wins the pot?

      I played a 20 man tournament at my local casino; hit a set on the turn. I bet on the river, the villain re-raised me and opened his cards and placed them into the muck. He had slowplayed his kings and showed down a full house. At first the dealer pushed the chips my way, but he table was divided on this matter, and the villain obviously protested and more people sided with him, as did the dealer (the senior dealer, or acting floor manager). Thus I was left with the option to fold, call, or re-raise. I folded.

      I did not think of re-raising at that time, but could I have done that, and could he have called me with his cards in the muck?
  • 5 replies
    • Wriggers
      Joined: 21.07.2009 Posts: 3,250
      Something similar to that happened when I was playing the Cash games at my local casino. A bit of betting had gone on preflop, and I shoved all my chips in the middle except one £25 chip, the other player didn't see my remaining chip and insta-called and flipped his cards over.

      I was on the phone at this point and didn't see him flip his cards over, so we were allowed to continue playing on the flop (Where I promptly put that extra chip in the middle with my AA). But what the dealer was going to do was declare us both all in preflop and deal the board.

      Wish he had done that in the end because the guys QQ ended up hitting a flush against me :(
    • OZSA
      Joined: 18.05.2009 Posts: 804
      IF you bet, he raises and he turns over his card before you said anything, and its NOT a cash game, he is automatically folded and you win the pot without showing what u had. so the guy who slowplayed has to lose the pot, thats a rule of poker, not a casino rule as I know, the dealer made a mistake there. even if he shows his cards to somebody else (first guy to his left and ur to his right lets say) he is instafold without an excuse..

      in cash games you can play with ur cards turned over from preflop to river, doesnt matter, u can do anything, but not in tournament/sngs.
    • bradomurder
      Joined: 17.10.2008 Posts: 1,329
      At the casino I play at its the opposite. In the cash games any showing is an insta-fold wheras in tournaments the hand just plays out with one person knowing the other ones hole cards. Weird
    • OZSA
      Joined: 18.05.2009 Posts: 804
      where i dealed in tournament u can only show ur cards at allin protection, so ur allin and u can show ur card for more fold equity. but in cash ur free to do anything.
    • justkyle88
      Joined: 07.05.2008 Posts: 7,596
      Hey Styr,

      That's a real tough decision but whether or not Player B was all-in helps the situation.
      Also whether it's Cash-Game or Tournament

      If Player B is all-in, his hand cannot be mucked and you there-fore have information on his hand. But if he is not all-in and he has mucked his hand, then it's bad luck and it's exactly what it is, "mucked".