Playing pocket pairs

• Royaltramp
      Royaltramp
      Bronze
      Alright so I'm new to playing poker for real money and I'm struggling with BSS a little, partly due to stupid mistakes and partly due to variance, but looking at my stats, pocket pairs seem to be my biggest leak, costing me huge amounts of money - in fact they probably account for 80% of my losses.

I've been relying on the starting hand chart a lot of the time since when I played previously I was used to playing SH not FR, and needed a good tight starting range. The thing is it often says to just limp in with pocket pairs and I have been advised that this isn't a good idea - so, how do you treat 22-99?

If you write it in a similar format to the starting chart that helps even more, e.g:
      ----------------------------Early-----Middle-----Late
      All players fold
      One player calls
      One player raises

I'm thinking that maybe I should start folding pocket pairs in early and middle position, then limping in with them if there are multiple limpers when I'm in late position, or raising if there is a single limper/just the blinds. As for the blinds, I'd most likely raise from SB if there aren't any limpers (or maybe one) and check from BB (or call a small raise)

Thoughts? PS as you can tell I'm new so apologies if my ideas sound like really bad play, they might be :P
  • 3 replies
    • Wriggers
      Wriggers
      Bronze
      Hey, with pocket pairs I like to open 77+ from early positions, then add in 55+ from middle position and all pocket pairs from late position :) I personally don't think it's a good idea to limp mid pocket pairs, and definately not opening the pot by limping with any pocket pairs, since it takes fold equity away from you and even when you do hit a set of the flop you're unlikely to gain much from it because the lack of raising preflop suggests a lot of weak hands :)