Time for some serious bankroll management

• Polarbeard
      Polarbeard
      Bronze
      Hello everyone,

I first would like to thank all who contribute to pokerstrategy.com. I have learned more in the last two weeks on this website than I did for the 3 preceeding months (I am pretty new to poker).

I had to chose William Hill for my starting bankroll as I was already playing the three other poker sites that are offered here.

There are a few aspects on William Hill that makes it pretty hard to play the shortstack strategy.

First, all the nl 0.01-0.02 require a minimum buyin of 50 BB. for nl 0.02-0.04, the minimum buyin is $1 (25 BB) and the nl 0.05-0.10 the minimum buyin is $3 (30 BB). As the SSS requires to leave the table when we reach 25 BB, I am not sure if that strategy can be applied there.

Also, there is a very limited number of tables there and they are usually full of regs with VpIp of 4-8. Might as well tell you that when they play, they have nothing worst than QQ. When one or two fish are playing at a table, there are usually 4-5 players in line to take a seat.

And the final reason why it seems to be hard to use the SSS there is that when you leave a table, you need to wait a very long period of time before being able to come back unless you bring back the chips you had when you left (wich defeats the idea of SSS).

To sum it up, my experience there cost me 60% ($30) of my bankroll in 2 weeks. Actually, I have payed 28$ in rake; so in fact, I am pretty even with the players. My biggest losts were due to not fearing enough the nits and the rocks poket overpairs or trips. My TPTK is way -EV there.

I had the feeling that I played decently and that alot of big pots were taken away from me with a lucky river. I also felt that I had no "donk break" at all (paying the big price for ALL my bad decisions, not getting lucky with one draw).