Faye's Poker... Career?

• Faye6891
      Faye6891
      Bronze
      Hi, first of all, my name's not Faye, and I'm not a woman. :D

It's kind of a long story, but I'm here to talk about poker, right? So here goes a (very) long post about my poker history.

I'm new here in PokerStrategy, but been playing poker since March, 2006. So, let me start from the beginning.

One day, I'm sitting in front of my PC, kinda bored, and all of sudden, I think "Hey, I wanna learn how to play poker". It was really all of a sudden, I can't really explain why I entered Google and started searching for poker sites, I just wanted to learn how to play. Had no idea there were such famous events like the WSOP and WPT, nor had any idea there were online poker rooms.
      Of course, I found about it in less than 5 minutes on google! :P

Started playing 5 draw first, played a little bit of 7 stud, then I learned texas hold'em (the rules, not how to be a good player, that I'm still learning :) ).

Up to Mid-April (2006) I played freerolls, but I could never win a tournament, the best I got was 15th out of a 1000 players, and won less than $1. But dude, I was like, WOW... 15th out of 1000 players, I'm getting good!! LOL!! :D

But then I found a site offering $50 more another $25 bonus, on PartyPoker, and so it began. It just offered the money, no articles, no strategies, no nothing, I had to learn everything on my own, and I'm very lucky I didn't go broke. :)

First I started playing FR FL microlimits cashgames only... after all those freerolls, I was tired of tournaments. As I said, a little luck helped me to not go broke, and after I had cleared my bonus, I cashed out PartyPoker and decided to try another room. At the time, Party only offered microlimits for begginers (for 45 days only). I knew nothing about bankroll management, but I wasn't stupid enough to play in $0.5/$1 stakes with a $75 bankroll. :P