PhixedGear's 2011 - The good, bad, and ugly

• PhixedGear
      Hi everyone,

The name's PhixedGear. I am a 22 year old sciences student living in Canada and trying my hand at poker when I am not busy with homework, friends, my girlfriend, and video games. I am an avid cyclist (hence the handle) and my main research focus is biology.

I have been playing poker since July 1st, 2010 and I have had some seriously fun ups and downs. Finished second in a 500 dollar guarantee at 888 with my first pokerstrat $50, cashed out the winnings and lost the rest. Lost a second $50 on partypoker because I still felt entitled after reading a few books and making some early wins. My "responsible" bankroll isn't linked to this site's where I deposited my first $10 bucks - FullTilt.

The FullTilt roll has been a lot of fun. Lost most of it (down to 2 dollars) and took a shot at a 1 dollar buy-in 26$ Ticket Frenzy. Won a ticket in that which I used for a mini FTOPS knockout tourney that brought my roll up to a respectable 30 dollars. Since then I have been playing SNGs, with a little bit of heads up and rush to keep it interesting.

I have around $160 on FT now depending on how I run that day. Taking it easy playing the $2.25 non-turbos and cashing pretty frequently. My goals for this blog are to keep you all updated on how I do with my remaining roll, to make some micro friends who I can analyze play with, get advice from those that were where I currently am, start to make graphs and track ROI over the next couple months, post the good, bad, and ugly hands that make or break my games, and really have a reason to be accountable and stick to good BMR (since I have only invested 20 dollars total since July sometimes I just feel like taking a shot - as we all can be great if you are lucky...but then you get a little addicted to taking those same shots again. And if you aren't lucky, it can be deadly for the roll).