Getting Away from a losing hand

• CoachB
      CoachB
      Bronze
      G'day,

I am still relatively new to the game but am all consumed in trying to get better.

I find I can outplay some very good players for hours but then have a major brain snap and leak all of my carefully collected chips in one hand because I can't get away from it.

Eg last night paying on PS 50/100NL ground my stack from $40 to $126 on one table (I was multitabling 4 tables) on at one point with two supernovas on the table.

A new player came to the table, 2 seats to my left, and was folding everything and I was stealing his BB like a demon.

Then he re-raised my semi-bluff AhTh. I called. The flop was 8 8 T rainbow.
      (I am 74% on Poker Stove)

He made a small bet, I reraised, he pushed.....I called already knowing I was behnd....to see JJ.

What methods do you guys use to get away from dangerous hands!

CB
  • 11 replies
    • sufix645
      sufix645
      Bronze
      fold button ;)
      just think what hand do he could have and how often you beat that range. if you will call and lose, but you kill most of his range, then good hand, wp
    • Meemawuk
      Meemawuk
      Bronze
      BRM firstly. Secondly, you called his 3-bet with ATo after you had been stealing his bb all day with no resistance?

Nits are 3-betting AK and JJ+ from the blinds to a late position stealraise, so you should be able to fold comfortably preflop.

However, since you called preflop, you should probably call the flop and hope he won't continue the turn with AK or worse (most players wont). If he continues the turn after 3-betting you preflop 1 time out of a significant sample, you're behind to a LOT of his range and should probably lean towards folding. Depends what is Turn C-bet percentage is.
    • jonnyjm
      jonnyjm
      Bronze
      Multiple things to say/ask:

1) Why buy in for only $40? Thats not a full stack at NL50 or 100!