Stuck failing at NL5

• phathustler
      phathustler
      Bronze
      Hi there,

Long background story. Skip to the bottom for short summary. Sorry, I can't avoid writing essay length posts.

I started learning how to play no limit nearly a year ago messing around with play money, and probably about 8 months ago I made my first deposit (about $50) and started playing 1c/2c games. At first I was way overthinking and making tons of mistakes trying to play fancy, but eventually I settled into a pretty straightforward style and I started multi-tabling those stakes successfully. I cleared my bonus and had made some money from playing as well. So, at about $125, I moved up to NL5.

The first run was unsuccessful (I lost around $30 in the first session), so I went back down to NL2 and got back up to $125 again. Since then, I've made deposits elsewhere, moving the cash around to get other deposit bonuses on other sites. As things are now, I've cleared about $60 in deposit bonuses, but my account is at $122. Adding up all those losses, that means I've somehow managed to lose nearly $100 at the tables in NL5, and this has happened over something like 40,000 hands at NL5, so I'm posting a pretty solid losing rate of around -5 bb/100 hands over a significant period of time. Because of bonuses, I'm magically still at +$72 dollars from my initial deposit, but I'm clearly not playing successfully.

Current thoughts: