How do you guys do it?

• keithbrad
      keithbrad
      Bronze
      I've never experienced anything like the bad beat I've been dealing with for the last week or so. I've been playing at Partypoker (mainly NL25 cash games) for the past 8 months building my bankroll from 25 up to 800, things were going pretty good, obviously having some terrible days on the way and some big time suck outs. But this past week or so has seen my bankroll cut in half, AK losing to AQ all in with top pair on flop, AA losing to JJ all in preflop, KK losing to QQ all in preflop, losing several times with AK/AQ top pair getting it in on the flop only to have people calling with open ended straight draw/ gutshots and hitting on the river. Seems like I keep getting my money in good and keep getting punished for it, there has also been some misreads too, but nothing out of the ordinary.

I can kind of predict the responses I'm going to get but just wanted to know how you guys deal with bad beats like this? any experiences like this that can make me feel sain?

Also just feels good to rant about stuff like this...
  • 9 replies
    • graefe78
      graefe78
      Bronze
      Sorry to hear this. I personally just take a little break if I have a run with crap sticking to my cards...

Or doing stuff like playing on bottom limit tables with the SSS/BSS and stuff, where nothing can really go wrong. Or I read a good book, do lots of sports and stuff.
    • Bliausmas
      Bliausmas
      Bronze
      Use more conservative bankroll management. 800 is not enough for NL25 IMHO, unless you are tilt averse and emotionally neutral at all times, which you obviously aren't. It certainly sucks a lot to have your BR cut in a half, that's why I use conservative BRM :) I still constantly experience downswings like -25BI, but it's still not as punishing as having half of it gone. That's pretty much all the advice I could give, except all the psychological stuff.
    • jonnyquest
      jonnyquest
      Bronze