What is Small in Small Stack Strategy

• locotyson
      locotyson
      Bronze
      Hi,
      Of course, the stack is small and this is a kinda duplicate post, so sorry but can be posted in both BSS and SS.

I read in the articles that SSS is less risky, you earn little money but you may loose only little money as well.

But except the stack and the starting hands which are pretty the same, what does the SSS less risky knowing that there are more all in cases in SSS than in BSS?

Regards,
      Loco Mehdi
      :f_zZz:
  • 17 replies
    • CreamyGoodness
      CreamyGoodness
      Bronze
      Im a born again beginner myself, but I think I can help you out...

Bacically, the SSS is designed to steadily increase your bankroll by almost garaunteeing you have the best hand when the money goes in. Most hands are over preflop or on the flop so you never give your opponent(s) the chance or odds to draw. You are making it unprofitable for them to play against by removing implied odds.

The flip side of this coin is that you lose very little on the few times they do draw out on you. Also, the cost of any mistakes you make while learning are very small.

Someone please correct me if I am wrong!
    • MeanGreen
      MeanGreen
      Bronze
      The cases where you go all-in are very basic with SSS and take place mostly postflop and on the flop. When you go all-in it's like Creamy said: you'll have the best hand most of the time. With BSS you will be faced with decisions on the turn and river far more often, which can lead to more mistakes.

Less chance for mistakes = less risky.
    • Gerv
      Gerv
      Bronze
      How about looking it if you are playing BSS.

By default in a single raised pot you are most likely to play Preflop, Flop, Turn & River.
      Beginners are mostly prone to raising too many hands at some point because they can't stand being so tight.