Reverse stop-loss

• bazerk
      bazerk
      Bronze
      Hi guys, something I've been thinking about lately:

I play FL and stick to a strict 35-50 BB stop-loss strategy. Since I'm new to FL (<2 months) I'm only 3 tabling for now.
      In a couple of my last sessions, after around 100-150 hands I was up 30-55 BB. Since I like to play 700-1000 hands per session, I carried on, ending between 8-15 BB up. (not complaining, always happy with a profit)
      So last night I fired up my usual 3 tables, and after around 100 hands, was up 48BB. I stopped for a ciggarete break and contemplated continuing. ( I probably should add I've just come off a 160BB in 1500 hands downswing (not sure if this is a standard downswing) so this may influence my decisions).
      So anyway, 100 hands, 48BB up. I continued playing. At the 150 hand mark, was only 34BB up. So when I reached 200 hands and was back to 45BB up, I stopped.
      It got me thinking all night if this was a good move. About 25% was luck and the rest my own skill + fish at the tables.

So my question is: Does anyone have a stop-WIN point? If we have a stop-loss point, why not a stop-win point?

Thoughts?
  • 7 replies
    • bradomurder
      bradomurder
      Bronze
      I think a stop loss is good because it protects you from tilt after losing a couple of stacks. A stop win would be good if you're prone to tilting after running hot for a while, I know I often tilt after a really good run. I guess it depends on your tilt tendencies
    • bazerk
      bazerk
      Bronze
      Originally posted by bradomurder
      I think a stop loss is good because it protects you from tilt after losing a couple of stacks. A stop win would be good if you're prone to tilting after running hot for a while, I know I often tilt after a really good run. I guess it depends on your tilt tendencies
      Kind of a reverse tilt?. Could be it, not sure. But it happens more often than not. get off to a good start, then slowly drop down.