MSS'ing it up!

• beefpuff
      beefpuff
      Bronze
      Hello! :)

My name is Alex and I'm a student living in the Netherlands.

I've been playing poker on and off for about 2 years but I've never really taken it seriously. I've experimented with many different formats including SSS, BSS, DoNs and HU SnGs. It's time to try MSS! :)

My plan with this blog is to keep track of my play and post some interesting hands, as well as to discuss the MSS strategy in more detail. Hopefully in this way everyone will benefit, including myself of course :)

Unfortunately my PokerStars account isn't tracked to PS, and since that's where I play for 95% of the time I'm not able to take a look at the gold MSS articles.

Anyway, I started playing MSS 2 days ago.

My first impressions

1) I really like it
      2) There's a lot of table management involved
      3) It's very swingy!
      4) There's a lot of room for adjusting the basic strategy vs different opponents.

I'm playing on NL10 with a 30BI rule, and I will move up to NL25 when I have 400$ (40 MSS buyins).

Here is a graph of my MSS so far. Running -ev, hopefully that will change soon!

Short term goals:
      1) Stop clicking the fold checkbox
      2) Make SilverStar on PS this month (I'll need around 80 VPPs /day)
      3) After every 5k hands played, do an in-depth analysis of my play and post my thoughts in this thread.

Medium term goals:
      1) Improve my mindset (I've improved in this quite a lot this past month, but I still room to improve)
      - to do this I will read "The Poker Mindset"
      2) Get in contact with other MSS players and organize a sweat-session, hand review, etc.
      3) Update my progress in this thread regularly.
      4) Ignore my ego and post hands which I know I played horribly (just as punishment :) )

Long term goals:
      1) Move up to NL25 with good BRM
      2) Make enough money to pay the rent for my room (around 350 euros /month)
      3) Exercise more!

Bankroll Update