SnG Motivation - Between Levels

• Ramble
      Ramble
      Bronze
      Hey All,

I've been in a weird spot the past couple of months.

I'm a hobby player and for the past 2 years have been playing 9-man SnG's. I was steadily beating the $2 games and built my bankroll up pretty good. So exactly 1 year ago yesterday, I started playing the $5 games and have discovered that I am a consistent break-even to losing player at that level. So about 2 months ago I moved back down to the $2 games and am again beating them consistently.

Here's where it gets weird... I can't seem to make the adjustment to the $5 games, but find the $2 games too easy/dull/routine. I've basically given up playing because of this...

I'm not sure what to do... I've been thinking about switching games or maybe trying out a different variant all together but I feel so defeated by SnG's that trying to learn a new game seems daunting...

Anyone else go through something similar? Any advice?
  • 4 replies
    • Hlynkinn
      Hlynkinn
      Bronze
      I have a lot of fun just trying to improve my game... Just review your hands.. watch videos and see if you can't increase your ROI on the $2's before taking a shot at the $5's again..

You could also try different variants... 6 player sng's , 18 player, 45 player... or whatever... although that will most likely slow down your progress of hopefully reaching the $5's soon :) but sounds like you mainly play for fun so yea maybe you should take a shot at different variants that don't differ to much from the 9 man's :)

Good luck
    • Jax87xAK47x
      Jax87xAK47x
      Bronze
      maybe different speeds (turbo/regular) confuses you? ... however I didn't have any problems between 2's and 6's (both turbo), but I have a feeling that I wouldn't do any good on regular speed SNGs. Again maybe you had just bad luck it happens. Try find some leaks at your game and than improve it.

Hope this helps... :D
    • pzhon
      pzhon
      Bronze