Spewing $ from BB / 3 betting

• hackbinder
      hackbinder
      Bronze
      So, I'm looking at my FT stats positionally (which I can't believe I've never done before) and something jumped out...

I was in the green for 5/6 positions. Nice. The one position I was in the red for, however, was the BB. While I expect that the BB will be a money loser, I was shocked to see by how much...

SB: 8 BB/100 hands
      BB: -40 BB/100 hands
      EP: 21 BB/100 hands
      MP: 27 BB/100 hands
      CO: 18 BB/100 hands
      BTN: 19 BB/100 hands

That's a pretty large discrepancy. So I'm looking for other reasons why this could be (besides poor oop post flop decisions and maybe preflop hand selection).

I noticed that my 3 bet % is significantly higher from the BB than anywhere else.

I have been trying to three bet more recently because I think that is a pretty big leak I have. In the past, my 3 bet % was between 2 and 2.5, which makes the decision of whether to call me pretty easy for anyone with some stats.

I have been 3 betting oop more specifically, thinking that if I'm going to play a hand oop, I should three bet (if my hand has some strength) instead of call because that way I'll get a much better idea of what I'm up against. So, naturally, with $ already committed, it becomes very easy to play marginal hands oop in the BB and 3 betting where in the past I may have just called.

I think it is also interesting that I've played more hands from the BB than any other spot.

My VPIP is virtually the same for BB, EP and MP. My VPIP is a little higher for the CO and higher still for the BTN. My highest VPIP is the SB.

So, for all of you who may want to help me with some advice, I have two questions...

1) Based on what I have written, what are a few tips for plugging my BB leak?

2) Is my reason for 3 betting more from BB a good one? Is my higher 3 betting from the BB responsible for my BB leak?

Thanks!
  • 4 replies
    • supeyrio
      supeyrio
      Bronze