..... or familiarity breeds contempt

'Familiarity breeds contempt' is a British saying and to be honest I never really know what it meant, but then when considering my poker playing I found a wonderful example.

Background
I started playing poker last April and although I read and watched videos it wasn't until September until I took it seriously.

That was when I stopped playing cash games and concentrated on MTTs and MTSNGs.

Over the the next 6 months my bankroll went from $200 to $6000 and I consider myself a winning player.

After 6 winning months I have hit a wall in March and I am break-even for the month and like all good players I have analysed where I am going wrong.

Analysis
Over the six months there is a definite pattern to my results.

September - playing MTTs - winning player then tailing off in October
October - started playing $4 Rush MTSNGs - winning player
November - started playing $11 Rush MTSNGs - winning player
November - started playing $4 Rush On Demand MTSNGs - winning player then tailing off in December/January
January - started playing multi-entry MTTs - winning player then tailing off in February

In addition - I played 1 FTOPS for fun and went out near the bubble when I made a silly mistake and cost myself a definite 'cash'; played 4 mini FTOPS and even though completely card dead still managed to cash in one.

My Theory
My thoughts are that when I start a new variation or a new level, I put full concentration into - in other words I bring my A game to the table. And it appears that, at the level I play, my A game is good enough to make me a consistent winning player.

When I don't bring my A game I can still win and actually I have the same ITM percentage (which has hidden my leak), but I don't win as big.

My A game is tight and very aggressive - If I am a little off my game, I lose a little tightness and a little aggression - these are hardly noticeable, but