new skeptic on board

• belayd
      belayd
      Global
      Hi, folks. I'm a Canadian citizen and resident who currently plays 4NL on Party. So far I have about 6K hands and am in the middle of a 12-buyin downswing over 2K hands. Before that I was in the middle of an 8-buyin upswing over 4K hands. Variance is a pregnant female dog.

I actually found this site while googling the phrase "downswing following cashout" because my downswing started immediately after I tested my new Party Cashier MasterCard by transferring 5% of my bankroll to it. What the search led me to was a 2009 thread in which one member kept insisting that poker sites do tweak their software to make improbable beats happen. The established members were taking the usual line: "we must believe in the sunshiny goodness and angelic purity of poker sites because PokerStrategy is affiliated with poker sites." I found the whole thing rather comical. You're not going to get biased people to publicly admit to their bias and harm their self-interest in the process. So don't expect me to start or participate in any "poker is rigged" discussions here--it would be a total waste of time.

What I do hope to accomplish here is read some articles, watch some videos, participate in some discussions and generally put in some quality time for the 33% tranche of study recommended for serious poker players. It looks like a quality site and I'm happy to add it to the list of places I spend some of my poker education time.

See you on the forum!
  • 8 replies
    • IngridN
      IngridN
      Bronze
      Hi belayd and welcome to our community!

I am thrilled to read your feedback and looking forward to follow you on the forum further on. Thankfully we have a friendly group of players participating daily in different discussions and sharing experiences. The more you talk about your game and ask questions the more we can help you out.

Have passed the quiz yet?