[NL2-NL10] K9s Freeplay

• Watto77
      A very basic one I am sure but I just wanted to have it explained as far as pot odds are concerned.

My stack was $4.55 and the 75c bet from the button gave me pot odds of 2 to 1 (75c into $1.50 pot with 9 outs)

With this decision I have 2 questions.

1. Does the odds of hitting the flush on the flop (5 to 1) or the river (2 to 1) determine what I do? And;

2. If i decide not to fold, my action is push all in, correct or no.

Poker Stars
      No Limit Holdem Ring game
      Blinds: $0.10/$0.25
      6 players

Pre-flop: (6 players) Hero is BB with 9 K
      3 folds, Button calls, SB calls, Hero checks.

Flop: 6 6 3 ($0.75, 3 players)
      SB checks, Hero checks, Button bets $0.75, SB folds, Hero folds.
      Uncalled bets: $0.75 returned to Button.

Final pot: $0.75

Am i approaching hands like this correctly or is there something I am missing?
  • 4 replies
    • russo79
      Disclaimer: I'm a beginner and not really sure of what I'm writing here.

Here's what it looks like to me from what I read in the PS articles:

1. The odds on the turn determine what you do.
      If you want to use the odds on the river, you should use the implied odds, meaning that you should guess how much more money will the Vilain put in the pot. You should then act accordingly. Not an easy thing to do.
      On the other side, if you decide to push, then you should probably use the odds on the river, since there will be no more betting rounds.

2. According to SSS, you should not play that hand (Free play / draw on the flop).
      If you decide to play, then I think you should push.
      His pot odds will then be of 5.8 : 3.35 --> 1.7 : 1
      That is not easilly called.

You have the second best draw. But be aware that the pre-flop and the flop checks are a sign of weakness, and if the vilain felt it, you will probably be called.