Kafkárna: The Jackdaws and The Bureaucrats

• maroscz
      maroscz
      Bronze
      Kafkárna - Bureaucratic world as described in books of Franz Kafka. One in which single person stands no chance against a machinery, which creates rules only to have enough work enforcing them and controlling its strict following.

Kavka (english Jackdaw, latin corvus monedula) - Bird from family of crows. Until the poker boom of last years only reknowned term in czech region for a weak card player or a gambler. The Fish. :f_frown:

• 10 replies
    • maroscz
      maroscz
      Bronze
      34 years old looser, who lives in apartment with his mother at Ústí nad Labem, Northern Bohemia (that's Czech Republic). Each time I make decision my income is stable enough to move out disaster strikes and I am lucky enough to fall back in this social trap. How did it happen this time?

I worked as a 7.5t truck driver making one haul deliveries between targets in Czech republic and Germany, mostly factory to factory. On one cold november morning I got stopped by a police patrol known for its "I stop one, I fine one" policy. Frist the policeman tried to tease me telling me my brakes ain't working right, he could tell that by a rust on a brake discs. Although "I don't brake too much" was first answer on my mind i came with more suitable quickly: "This car goes on regular service every three months." He realized that this wouldn't be the way to get to his usual reward and decided to control my drivers card from digital tacho instead. Took it to their car and called me after a while with oh so surprising question: "How much money u get ready for fines?" "What do you wanna fine me for?" I asked and policeman started browsing through the list of crimes against humanity on the screen of the laptop. "Here u haven't made your night break" points to a line where it's clear that the car stayed on a place for 15 hours but the tacho device wasn't switched to break mode. "Here u haven't made your day break