3betting hands like JdJs6s6h

Bronze
      Hi there,

I'm from the Dutch community and I recently started playing some plo. In a lot of PLO video's they say that hands like JdJs6s6h are good for 3betting, cause opponents will misread your hand some of the time. I definitely understand this concept, but I also see a big downside, because what is your plan if villian 4bets you? Are you really going to fold? I can't imagine, that it's profitable to continue with this hand in that spot? (assuming we are 100bb deep) Because of this downside I have my doubts about the profitability of 3betting those hands. Can anybody convice me that it's the right move to put some of this hands in my 3betting range?

Edit*
      I've just done some quick calculations and I found out that you have around 30% equity against AAxx. Because you need 30% equity to call a 4bet I assume it will be profitable to call the 4bet? Or can't we realize our 30% equity, because we will sometimes hit our set on the turn or river? Thanks in advance for your help.
  • 6 replies
    • Ribbo
      Ribbo
      Bronze
      Realistically villain is only 4 betting with aces if your 3 bet % is less than 6%. Aces are dealt 2.5% of the time in PLO, more precisely 1 in 42 times.

So if your opponent has a PFR of 15% then aces makes up 1/6th of his range.

When an ace flops your cbets will have a high success rate and obviously when you hit a set, you can stack off.

As for if you do get 4 bet 100 bets deep, when you call you will have put 25 bets in and you hit a set 1 in 4 times, so you can almost justify it with implied odds.

But the point is, it's profitable because of the 5 times out of 6 you don't get 4 bet (and the times opponent folds something like KK or QQ if you've been super tight and he thinks you have aces)

Remember though that these 3 bets should generally be done in position so that opponents don't float you on the flop as much.
      Bronze
      Thanks! I couldn´t ask for a better explanation.