Stack size

  • 8 replies
    • phathustler
      phathustler
      Bronze
      Joined: 03.01.2011 Posts: 23
      If your current stack represents too large a percentage of your total bankroll, then it may be contrary to your usual bankroll management to stay there (you wouldn't have sat down at a table for that much money). For people strictly following a 25 buy-in rule, this doesn't mean you should immediately leave if your current stack size exceeds 1/25 of your bankroll. You need some slack, or else you'd have to leave as soon as you were up on the table. But, if you've doubled your stack or something, and if you want to be strict with your BRM, then you should start considering whether you would be okay with possibly losing your whole double-sized stack. Again, you wouldn't allow yourself to leave the table and join another table with that double-sized stack, because it would contradict your bankroll management, so why are you happy with keeping it this size here now?

      That said, things to consider are whether anyone else at the table has a large enough stack to make this an issue (effective stack sizes might be low enough for your bankroll management strategy), and whether you think the information you've gained in the time you've been at the table is significant enough to overrule your bankroll management (someone is so exploitable that you are willing to accept the increased chance of larger losses). Also, if someone else at the table does have a large stack as well, so that effective stack sizes are larger than you're used to playing at, you have to be aware that this will affect strategy, and you might not be as profitable a player in these circumstances.
    • staktas
      staktas
      Bronze
      Joined: 28.03.2011 Posts: 1,346
      Thanks.
    • sapheal
      sapheal
      Global
      Joined: 23.02.2008 Posts: 1,015
      Originally posted by staktas
      Should i stand up from the table when my size reaches, like, 5$, if maximum buy-in is 2$. Or it doesn't matter?

      Thanks.
      staktas :) ,

      There is no need to leave the table when you're deepstacked until you can play deepstack poker. Sometimes it may happen that you're playing against another person with over 200BB in stack and - if you don't feel capable of playing in such situations - you might just sit out of the table.

      Normally, regulars don't leave the table when they are deepstacked. They just need to adjust their ranges when playing against another player with 150BB+ stack.


      Cheers,
      Michal
    • RubyWesson
      RubyWesson
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.08.2010 Posts: 363
      At poker stars it lets you buyin for $5 on nl2 should i buy in for 100bb or 5$?
    • keoghh
      keoghh
      Bronze
      Joined: 01.07.2011 Posts: 857
      This is also the case at william hill, you can buy in to 2NL and 4NL tables with $5 maximum and im unsure as to how much to buy in for
    • YxieAA
      YxieAA
      Silver
      Joined: 18.05.2011 Posts: 1,062
      guess we should look at the stacks of the other players to see if it makes sense to buy in for 5$ on a 2NL table
    • keoghh
      keoghh
      Bronze
      Joined: 01.07.2011 Posts: 857
      Most players buy in for around $2-$3 but some buy in for the full $5.
    • RubyWesson
      RubyWesson
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.08.2010 Posts: 363
      Also when it says one player called in the chart, do i follow that even if 2 people limp?