going against my instinct

• herner02
      I've been playing since sept 2010.
      as a live player I do quite well because I can read my opponents pretty well but online I don't have that so I usually play tight aggressive with the occasional bluff to mix it up.

My problem is sometimes I know I have the best hand let's say I have the nut flush on the turn and the board pairs on the river. I can just feel that I've been outdrawn. I still call a huge river bet and sometimes I even put in a bet myself. I can't go around putting everyone on full houses when the board pairs but sometimes my intincts are telling me to fold and I don't.

Another example is I have top two pair and I've been called to the river and a flush hits. I know I would be behind to a set but based on the action I'm confident I have the best hand until the river.

Did anyone else go through this as an amatuer and is there away to get around it?

This is really annoying because i can run real deep into an online tournament then implode my stack in these situations.

any ideas?
  • 1 reply
    • pleno1
      Hey herner02,

Its not only beginners who go through this kind of phase, almost every poker player from 2nl to 10000nl will go through a phase where they doubt their ability. I know sometimes I will go on a hot streak for a month, play bad for a couple of days and start doubting myself considering whether it was all luck or not.

You say that you go on your "reads" alot in live poker but struggle to transfer these into online poker? Have you got Holdem Manager or anything similar? On these programs you can use something called a "HUD" which stands for Heads Up Display.

ON the HUD you can see lots of different stats on your opponent including betting %'s (good for assigning ranges) and flop/turn/river aggression (good for making hero folds/calls) . Lets use a hand for example.

You raise pre flop with A5 of hearts.

The flop comes KQ7hhx. You bet and the guy calls.