[NL2-NL10] set mine

    • JHTAN
      JHTAN
      Bronze
      Joined: 10.07.2010 Posts: 1,331
      Grabbed by Holdem Manager
      NL Holdem $0.10(BB) Replayer
      SB ($10)
      BB ($8.32)
      Hero ($4.04)
      UTG+1 ($7.68)
      UTG+2 ($14.26)
      MP1 ($10.20)
      MP2 ($2.44)
      CO ($6.08)
      BTN ($14.83)

      Dealt to Hero Q:diamond: Q:spade:

      Hero raises to $0.30, fold, fold, fold, fold, fold, BTN raises to $0.65, fold, fold, Hero?

      Hi,

      I have read on Villain that he min3bet with KK+. Do I have the right odds to set mine here? Thanks
  • 4 replies
    • burek2000
      burek2000
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.11.2007 Posts: 3,105
      Hey JHTAN,

      It's very close if you could stack him every time you hit, might be even -EV because of the rake, so I would just fold this preflop and stick to call20 rule when deciding whether to setmine.

      Best regards,
      burek2000
    • JHTAN
      JHTAN
      Bronze
      Joined: 10.07.2010 Posts: 1,331
      Hi burek,

      I am not sure about the call 20 rule.
      In this hand is $0.65*20=$13 or the amount Hero need to call that is $0.35*20=$7?
      May you help me, please?
    • MeanGreen
      MeanGreen
      Bronze
      Joined: 20.09.2007 Posts: 862
      From the BSS guide:

      WHAT DOES 'CALL 20' MEAN? When you play a small pair like 55 you are speculating on hitting three-of-a-kind on the flop. This only happens approx. 12% of the time, but when it does, you will have a very strong hand that can bring in a fair amount of money. This is why it's profitable to call a raise when holding a small pair, as long as your opponent has enough money to pay you off when you do hit. With a small pair, you should only call a raise, when your opponent has at least 20x the raise amount in his stack. By the way, this applies to you as well. You must also have 20x the raise amount. You can only win as much money as you have in your stack, so if your opponent has 20x the raise amount but you don't, it really doesn't help you. That is what the term 'Call 20' means.


      You both need a $0.65 x 20 = $13 stack.
    • burek2000
      burek2000
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.11.2007 Posts: 3,105
      Originally posted by JHTAN
      Hi burek,

      I am not sure about the call 20 rule.
      In this hand is $0.65*20=$13 or the amount Hero need to call that is $0.35*20=$7?
      May you help me, please?
      As MeanGreen already pointed out, the Call20 rule is a BSS rule applied to play with PPs as a general guide to when to call for set value. It means one can call for set value when your remaining effective stack size is 20 times the amount you have to call meaning you and your opponent both have 20x the amount you have to call in your stacks.

      In your case this would be 0.35$x20=7$

      Here, somewhere in the middle of this articles the call20 rule is explained as it's used in the BSS SHC if you would like to have a look at it.

      Best regards,
      burek2000