[NL2-NL10] NL6 SH - Straight Flush for value

• luizsilveira
      luizsilveira
      Bronze
      Howdy ho.

So I usually post hands I lost for evaluation, now I thought about posting one I actually won. I had a pretty good session today, made two straight flushes (yup, that's right, two in a day) and ended some 5BI up.

This villain is a complete idiot. He has VPIP of some 85%, min-raised every hand pre-flop, and is simply put the biggest bluffer I've ever seen, both in quantity and bluff sizes.

BUT he had a huge stack because he either got lucky (he rivered me twice, once for a very big pot) or people just folded to his insane bets.

Considering his behaviour, I tried to adapt. Since he was playing many hands, and often other players were loose too and pots multiway, I started playing hands that could flop monsters, as I knew he would pay me out. On the other side, hands like AJo were simply trash, as flopping a pair was not often enough to beat him/call him down.

Anyway, here is the hand:

Pacific Poker - $0.06 NL - Holdem - 5 players

Hero (BB): $20.94
      UTG: $6.11
      CO: $6.00
      BTN: $10.34
      SB: $27.67

SB posts SB $0.03, Hero posts BB $0.06, CO posts DB $0.06

Pre Flop: ($0.15) Hero has 8:diamond: T:diamond:

fold, CO checks, fold, SB raises to $0.12, Hero calls $0.06, fold

Flop: ($0.30, 2 players) 7:club: 9:diamond: J:diamond:
      SB bets $0.06, Hero raises to $0.18, SB raises to $0.30, Hero raises to $0.84, SB calls $0.54

Turn: ($1.98, 2 players) Q:diamond:
      SB bets $1.98, Hero raises to $3.96, SB calls $1.98

River: ($9.90, 2 players) 7:spade:
      SB checks, Hero bets $5.00, SB calls $5.00

Hero shows 8:diamond: T:diamond: (Straight Flush, Queen High) (PreFlop 35%, Flop 96%, Turn 100%)