Are cbets profitable most of the time?

• hoonji126
      hoonji126
      Bronze
      Hi, I'm a beginner poker player who was reviewing pot odds concepts today and I found something curious about cbets

Betting 2/3 of a pot heads up as a cbet if profitable if the opponent folds at least 40% of the time, right?

calculating the odds:

pot odds: 3:2 -> 1.5:1
      odds against you: 60:40 -> 1.5:1

And in this case, cbet is +EV, I guess

Obviously, your equity increases further if the opponent has a greater chance to fold, which will lower the odds against you.

However, what if we look at raising EV from the other direction, i.e. by raising the pot odds instead of expecting the opponent to fold more?

Let's say the opponent is very loose caller and will call 90% of your cbets. This gives you odds of 9:1 against, right?

A 2/3 pot sized bet will only give you 1.5:1 pot odds, which is not enough to make the cbet. But if you only cbet 1/9 of the pot, wouldn't that give you the pot odds necessary (9:1) to make the cbet?

To me, this lead to the conclusion that a minimum bet into a large enough pot is profitable against players who do not fold easily.

Can anyone correct me if my logic is erroneous?

Thanks!
  • 10 replies
    • Bigniux
      Bigniux
      Bronze
      Originally posted by hoonji126
      Let's say the opponent is very loose caller and will call 90% of your cbets. This gives you odds of 9:1 against, right?

A 2/3 pot sized bet will only give you 1.5:1 pot odds, which is not enough to make the cbet. But if you only cbet 1/9 of the pot, wouldn't that give you the pot odds necessary (9:1) to make the cbet?
      If opponent is calling 90% of 2/3 pot sized bets, then how can you expect him to fold those 10% when you bet only 1/9th of the pot? :)
    • TiciBoy
      TiciBoy
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Bigniux

If opponent is calling 90% of 2/3 pot sized bets, then how can you expect him to fold those 10% when you bet only 1/9th of the pot? :)