Elements of Poker by Tommy Angelo

• GodlikeRoy
      GodlikeRoy
      Bronze
      This is a cross post of a review I posted on my blog - I figured a lot of people would never find it there. I'm not a professional writer or reviewer and this is the first poker book I've ever reviewed (well, the first anything, in the strictest sense of the word).

4.8 / 5

I haven’t bought a poker book in 3 years so the mere fact that I ordered Elements of Poker speaks highly of the recommendations I had been given about it. I am here to add to that list of recommendations. I finished reading the book 12 hours after collecting it from my mail box. I didn’t set out to finish it that soon, and it’s a decent sized book — It’s just that easy to read, that enthralling, and that good.

There are passages and quotes that hit home hard and that will be read and re-read for the rest of my poker career. The book focuses on elements (144 to be exact) that Tommy has divided into several categories: Universal Elements, Table Poker, Internet Poker, Cash Games, Tournaments, Hold’em, Limit Hold’em, No-Limit Hold’em and Elements of Performance. As a primarily online pot-limit omaha cash game player you would think the book is largely useless to me. Not true. While a lot of the elements did not strictly apply to my branch of the poker tree there were certainly tidbits in each and every section that provided meaningful insight into my game. And I could tell that for someone who actually did have a vested interest in any of those said categories, the advice was very good.