[NL20-NL50] KK in position (blind vs blind) with an Ace on the flop

• fembot26
      fembot26
      Bronze
      I'm new to cash-games, so this might be a very standard hand with standard optimal lines. I had no reads on my opponent at the time, although looking back in detail over previous hands he seems to be quite aggressive post-flop, generally betting the turn after a checked flop and, for example, once betting into a four-player flop and folding to a min-raise and call.

I chose not to continuation-bet in this hand holding second pair KK as I felt my recent CB frequency had been quite high; but now it seems this image would have allowed me to get value from a worse pair. But on the other hand a continuation-bet wouldn't necessarily have been given me much information as to how to continue, as he would call with some draws. Or was I just too fearful of the overcard on the flop? Maybe double- and even triple-barreling would take him off a medium Ace (it's unlikely he has AK or AQ).

On the turn should I try a min-raise, planning not to put any more money into the pot, or would this be interpreted as usually indicating a weak hand? How about a bigger raise to convince him I've made a big hand and fold out his top pairs? - or should I let him keep bluffing and call down to the river? I of course considered calling the river, but experience and flawed intuition convinced me he surely must have an Ace. I might win Poker Wimp of the Year for that one.

Hand converted with online PokerStrategy.com hand converter:

Play hand

$0.25/$0.5 No-Limit Hold'em (7 handed)

Known players:
      MP1:
      $20.25
      MP2:
      $30.85
      MP3:
      $49.40
      CO:
      $49.00
      BU:
      $50.00
      SB:
      $64.85
      BB (Hero):
      $59.10

Preflop: Hero is BB with K, K.
      5 folds, SB raises to $1.00, Hero raises to $2.75, SB calls $1.75.

Flop: ($5.5) A, 8, 9 (2 players)
      SB checks, Hero checks.

Turn: ($5.5) Q (2 players)