All In Ev

• mattisks
      mattisks
      Bronze
      hi,

my friend tried to explain to me last time but I still didn't understand it. He rather made it complicated for me. Ok here is the question.

I have -800 BB difference between All in EV and my winnings.

Is it bad sign or good sign?

If my All in EV is smaller than my expected winnings is it that I am doing something wrong or that I am extremely unlucky or lucky?

Please focus on the answer. I am looking for simple one. I am really a newbie in PT stuff.

Thx for explanation in advance :f_biggrin:
  • 16 replies
    • roopopper
      roopopper
      Bronze
      I cant believe you are asking this question!!! I was just about to post about my ev line on hem!!! lol
      for the last 700 hands it has moved above my winnings line, I think it means that although I have been getting sucked out, because i have positive +ev if I continue to play this way means i will be a winner!!! ( well im hoping this is what it means!!!lol ) :P

I really need to know about the BB question too!!!

we must be thinking along the same path :P

Roo
    • LudiCoka
      LudiCoka
      Bronze
      EV in EV line means "estimated value". It is a mathematical calculation of how much money will you earn/lose in the long run going all-in the way you do.

Let's say you go all-in preflop for 5$ with A:sA:diamond: vs K:sK:diamond: and you lose it. You had 82,637% chance to win this hand and therefore you EV winnings are 0,82637*10 (10 is for $10 as you and your opponent put $5 in pot) which equals 8,27$. And you have lost 5$. Because of that your EV line is 13,27$ above your winnings line now. Basically if your EV line keeps going up on your graph, you are playing good and should continue, you will be winning in the long run.

Offcourse, that line never shows failed bluffs and much more situations which you can't really calculate that simply, so its results should be taken with reservation.