Hello from Argentina!

• Melkienn
      Melkienn
      Bronze
      Hello guys!

I've been reading the site for some time now, but never introduced myself. Anyway, hello, I am Javier from Argentina. I'm currently playing in FTP with the initial 50$. I started playing because of a friend I have. She told me her brother played lots of poker and could make a nice income from it. I talked alot with him, we became friends and he showed me important stuff of the online poker world. As I tend to like fun stuff, risky stuff, I started playing, reading, studying, etc. Last year I didn't do much good, I never went bellow 45$. But due to some problems I just eventually left.

This year I decided to continue. I started playing for leisure, since it would be stupid to just leave those good ol' 50$ there without use. So I signed up in this tournament, for which I finished 4th and won 31$. I was quite motivated by this, and decided to try again, more focus. So I kept on route, I lost 20$ from those 30$, and I accepted I seriously had to review my hands for better performance (although in some of those hands probabilities were in my side, but as we know bad beats always occur - it's important to handle 'em!).

By that time I started playing SnG's so as to check them out - I read a lot about them and did regular. I was kind of afraid going back to cash games because I had done so bad before. But this period was important because reading about SnG's, how they work and stuff actually helped me in cash games. I learned to be more aggressive in very important situations, dont' be afraid of the All In in lots of them, steal blinds, pay attention to opponent stats, read opponents, ranges, etc. I learnt more about probabilities, equity, knowing when it's important to push, etc.

Thus, I now stand with 70 bucks, ready to learn even more. I am really anxious to continue learning and doing better, and I am quite proud of being able to control myself in various situations.