How should you react to a raise?

    • ShadowCasino
      ShadowCasino
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.09.2010 Posts: 519
      How should you react to a raise?
      Another common situation you will encounter: you make a contibet and an opponent raises behind you.
      You can call with just a flush/OESD/double gutshot draw if you're getting the right (implied) pot odds.
      If you complete your draw, you can expect to win another 1/2 of the pot size on the turn by the showdown.
      As a general rule: you can call as long as you don't have to pay more than 3/4 of the pot size (including actions before you).

      I don't understand this rule.
  • 6 replies
    • Jim4rdo
      Jim4rdo
      Bronze
      Joined: 03.10.2010 Posts: 1,252
      Give us a bit more info.

      What don't you understand about it?

      The theory behind it, or how much you can actually call?

      If so for example,1$ pot, you can call up to a 75c bet.
    • furculision
      furculision
      Bronze
      Joined: 25.03.2011 Posts: 474
      If the pot is,for example,5 dollars,you bet 3 dollars you can call a raise of 6$,because the pot after your cbet will be 8, 8/4=2 => 3*2=6.

      If i am doing this wrong,please someone enlighten.

      Thanks.
    • dubadal
      dubadal
      Bronze
      Joined: 05.09.2008 Posts: 263
      While the 1st 3 sentences are common knowledge'ish, the 3rd is either wrongly written or you can read it as a suggestion to call off everything except a huge overbet. E.g. if you need 3/4 (75%) to call, then if someone bets 3x pot, then you are o.k. to call it.

      It's 2x bad, if there is no following explanation of how this rule should not be used depending on position, amount of players in hand etc.

      It might make some sense if you are playing with huge stacks (larger than average implied odds) against loose opponenets and are a good LAG with good feeling/tells of ops, a la Durr in his younger years, but meh.

      Where does it come from anyway?

      ed: and if you have a strong draw, you might want to raise and not just call, since by flat calling you will miss out on value...
    • ShadowCasino
      ShadowCasino
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.09.2010 Posts: 519
      This comes from the Bronze articles.
      I am not sure of the correct interpretation.

      If the vilain bets 3/4 of the pot I can call.
      Pot odds: 30%
      Implied pot odds: 20%
      Odds: 18% (flush draw)
      It's still short.

      furculision:
      I think you meant one can call a raise of 9$ so we just have to call 6$.
      Is that right?
    • MatejM47
      MatejM47
      Black
      Joined: 21.01.2010 Posts: 1,193
      Well when ever your calling a raise with a draw there's more things to consider. First off is your position and how disguised your draw is. If your OOP with a flush draw and call a raise then your implied odds are very low when you donk out the turn when you hit it and if you don't donk out he might just check back his sets so your options are very limited. Your implied odds are always higher when you have position and strait draws generally have higher implied then FD.

      If you have like 67 on 359 board where its seems like there is no draws on the flop you almost surely stacking him if you hit the turn. You can even call a potsize raise with this type of hand.

      So what kind of raise you can call mostly depends on what you think your implied odds are. If your playing against a donk thats going to stack off with TPTK or overpair that he decided to raise on the flop even after the flush hits you obviously can call most draws against him, but against a decent oponent you should only be calling disguised draws when you have position and play good FD more agressive against him.
    • ShadowCasino
      ShadowCasino
      Bronze
      Joined: 16.09.2010 Posts: 519
      Now I understand. Thanks for your answers ;)