Working in London

• kozmi55
      kozmi55
      Silver
      Hi guys!

I'm a 19 years old Hungarian student from Slovakia. If everything goes smoothly, i will pass my final exams at high school tomorrow. After that I'm going to London for 3 months with a friend, who is also 19.

We've alredy reserved our flying ticket (may 28 to London, sept 3 back to Bratislava) and a room in a shared house.

If someone has alredy worked in London, or is working there at the moment, maybe could give us some advice, how to find a job as soon as possible. We don't have high expectations, the minimal wager is enough for us. Our goal is to learn to live independent from parents, and not to earn a fortune. If we finish the 3 months break even, we will be happy.

So if anyone has information about the topic, feel free to comment. Every information is appreciated.
  • 9 replies
    • fryandspicy
      fryandspicy
      Bronze
      Hey i'm a student in london at the moment. Found it pretty hard to get a job in my first year of uni and ended up getting one through a friend. For short term work it might be pretty difficult. Use http://www.gumtree.com/london and find jobs you can search by loads of different things. You'll end up flyering or touting charities unless you're lucky.

I know a friend who got off the boat from columbia and instantly got a job at Pret (a sandwich shop) http://www.pret.com/jobs/Working_at_Pret.htm but might be difficult for just a few months. Think you have to go to victoria station to apply too.

Other than that can't really think of any decent advice. Overall you'll probably find it pretty hard to get a job just for a few months unless you search specifically for seasonal work and don't think there's much of that going in london. Google is your friend.
    • kozmi55
      kozmi55
      Silver
      Thanks for the reply.
    • MarcPS
      MarcPS