Why do I call against my gut-feeling?

• jangeisler
      jangeisler
      Bronze
      Hi all.

Thank you PokerStrategy for the free 50$ on FT.

I primarily play $1+0.2 SnG's.

I also play at Partypoker, and until recently, i build up my bankroll from approx $10 to approx $70. When I reached approx. $30, i started playing $3 SnG's, which went well.

Then something went wrong. I started calling bets/raises I knew i shouldn't.

For instance, when I try to steal a pot in late position and SB or BB raises me, I tend to call sometimes.

Or when I'm playing in the middle of a STT, against 1 person, i tend to raise all-in to try to make the person who just bet fold their hand. Or when i hit mid pair or something like that, and i bet (primarily to steal the pot), they go all-in, AND I CALL.

Also, early on, after calling a small blind with decent holecards to see a cheap flop, when someone raises 2-3xBB, i tend to pay the extra 1-2BB and call the raise to see the flop.

After printing your great guidelines for beginners in SnG's, I've tried to follow them strictly, but doing so, I tend to be too tight, and get eaten by the blinds.

Then, when i signed up at FT, getting the $50 from you, i played a lot of $3 sng's. Now my bankroll at FT is about $25, and I have to play the $1 sng's. It's okay, but i dont really want to bust my bankroll, because I know, that I play decent poker when I'm not making stupid mistakes.

Have any of you been experiencing this, and if so, what did you do to fix it?

Thanks

Jan
  • 11 replies
    • pleno1
      pleno1
      Coach
      Coach
      Hey Jan,

If you are getting into a state where you know you're playing sub optimally then you should definitely stop and take a break. This can usually happen when you play after work and you are tired or if you have had an argument with someone in your life and you feel angry.