[NL2-NL10] overpair overbet?

• netrogrant
      netrogrant
      Bronze
      So I'm very new to poker, and i've bin enjoying playing microstakes (NL2) on full tilt. I lost about $2 on a hand today and I wanted to run it by someone to see if I played it wrong or whither it was just one of those things.

I was in Big Blind position and got delt JJ, most players before me flopped and 2 called, naturally I raised (4xBB) one more player flopped and one called.

Flopped 2c7h9d

I bet 20 cents, he calls.

Turn 4d

I bet 20 cents, he calls.

River 10h

I bet 20 cents, he raises to $1.80, I call.

he revealed QQ and won pot

I called his $1.80 raise confident that even if he flopped top pair at the end I was still beating him. Did i play this hand wrong? I figure if he had top pair on the flop he would re-raise me so didn't think he had a pair then, then on the turn if he hit a pair i figured i was still beating him, tho he may have a gutshot, and if he had a 4 he would fold, if he was holding 44 then he would raise. By the river I was confident he was holding nothing and couldn't make sense of his betting pattern :\ and even if he flopped a last minute pair of 10's I was still beating him with my overpair, I saw his $1.80 raise as a probable bluff because his betting had been very passive before this point.
  • 4 replies
    • fryandspicy
      fryandspicy
      Bronze
      People who limp call preflop rarely bluff. If you have no reads you should treat them as bluff catchers rather than bluffers in my experience. :f_p:

Preflop you should make it 4 big blinds + 1 extra big blind for each limper. In this case 6 big blinds.

On the flop you should bet 2/3 of the pot to extract value from worse hands like A9 or something. I don't know how big the pot was.

On the turn bet around 2/3 again. At this point you can still be confident of having the best hand