tHINGfISH's Poker Career [SnG]

• tHINGfISH
      tHINGfISH
      Bronze
      Hi, my name is Hai Truong. I was born in Vietnam and raised in Canada. I'm a 28 year old father of a newborn son who's only 2months old. Great times! My goal is to become a professional poker player who can stay home and spend time with his wife and kid.

I've been playing hold'em poker for a long time now. Probably 8 years with friends on a weekly basis. I've learnt a lot from the days of $0.01-$0.02 playing with friends to playing online. I started playing online about 4 years ago. Of course, not knowing that it was wasting my time more than anything.

I was playing for fun after work at nights. I would deposit $200-$500 depending on the different bonus' that were given on different sites. I would eventually cash out all the money I deposited and the bonus. Which meant I was playing for bonus dollars. Of course, if I calculated my hourly earnings, I'm sure it was like $1 an hour at best! :) Which I'm happy with if it's just for fun.

I received the $50+$100 bonus because a friend showed me this site. Too bad he didn't refer me and get the bonus. (Thanks again PS!)

I played SSS for about 2 weeks and found I was down $10 but with the $10 that was released form the $100 bonus, I was even again! Of course, there were many horrible beats but I won't bore you with that! Hehe.

I decided to go against BRM, and play tournaments SnG. Of course, I started with the $2+$0.40 SnG with the ridiculous rakes. I managed to build my bankroll to about $100. I decided that the rake was too much and played $5+$0.50 SnG. I'm not sure if it was an upswing or not but I managed to build it up to $300.

This was when Puschkin advised me about my mistake about not following BRM. And thanks to him, I re-raid the articles about BRM and now am following it but being very cautious. I continued playing $5.50 SnG and built my BR up to $1100.