sketchzrs' road to ruin... maybe :o

• sketchzr
      sketchzr
      Bronze
      Greetings all, I'm sketchzr and I've been playing poker on/off for about 2 years with no defineable success. This is my 3rd attempt at playing poker properly, and is a complete change over the way I used to play.

I started off with a free BR on Full Tilt Poker a couple of years ago, stuck to a basic game and never really got anywhere, I did however manage to keep my roll and break even pretty much until they shutdown, moments before I could've cleared my bonus which was only slightly annoying. Shortly after I was offered a free $50 on PartyPoker courtesy of PokerStrategy, so I took up the offer and began playing there.

After a short time of playing there (about 2k hands) and not really doing much research, I quickly lost $15 of it and blamed it on the site being rubbish (one of my downfalls is my ability to tilt quite easily and not notice).

After my foolish thoughts had disintegrated I had a revelation, I thought if I put the time in, make plenty of written notes and read a variety of material, then I have as much potential as anyone else right? So I began watching videos, reading articles here and elsewhere and started taking the game a lot more seriously, recognizing when I tilt more often etc.

This is pretty much the start for me, my first real attempt at being a decent player so I don't know what's going to happen from here, but like everyone here I hope poker brings me success. It's a game I truly enjoy playing and also it'd be cool to make some extra money from playing it as times are hard atm!

I'm currently playing NL4 as I deposited some extra dollars. Since I started studying a lot harder my graph has started going upwards more than it has previously, be it due to luck, skill or both.