Confessions of an MTT/MTSnG Pro.

• Semesa
      Semesa
      Bronze
      Note: By pro, I mean that I play for a living, I am not claiming to be a pro level player, not even close :)

Anyone who has read my thread in the "Successes" forum will already know this, but for the sake of clarity I will start with a small introduction.

My name is Semesa, I started playing poker on my 18th birthday, June 1st 2008, which is, incidentally, the date I signed up to pokerstrategy.

I spent the first year or so of my poker career short stacking on Ipoker and learning to play 10 man STT's. I never really got very far, and after moving my roll to stars in 2010 after a fairly extended break, I basically moved from game to game trying to find something that really appealed to me. I ended up around break even at all games ranging from HUSnG to 6max cash. I had a few nice wins in MTT's, but lost a lot of that trying to learn NL50HU and running 28BI below EV over 30k hands.

On May 21st I started a stake for 180man MTSnG's on pokerstars. I had no experience at these but was somewhat obsessive about improving, and as a result, went from $2.50's to $15's in about a month.
      I started mixing in MTT's about a month ago with some good results. A 4th in the $11r 70k Guaranteed and a 1st in the $162 Nightly 40k Guaranteed has boosted my bankroll significantly. That being said, I'm still playing pretty much the same stakes/games that I always have.

In the first 2 months since I started the stake I have accumulated $35k profit. Of that, I kept around $22k.

This is my graph from May 21st to July 31st:

Unfortunately all is not roses in grindville. Since my first somewhat significant MTT cash, I've hit something of a downswing. Dropping roughly 4k in August so far. A giraffe for your viewing pleasure:

In this blog I intend to post updates daily, but I may forget from time to time.