"This is the greatest game in the world!" - CheckBop at NLSH

• CheckBop
      CheckBop
      Bronze
      :diamond: CheckBop :diamond:

I'm an 18 year student from England. I have just finished college and will hopefully be starting university in London in September to study Economics. Out side of poker I enjoy a lot of sports and played football to a relatively high standard and competed nationally at athletics and cross country. I currently play Futsal (A fantastic 5-a-side game growing rapidly in the UK) in the English National League and also recently broke a World Record for the longest ever Futsal match - we played for 36 hours straight!

:heart: Poker Beginnings :heart:

Well I started playing poker when I was 15 firstly playing freerolls or play money etc. I managed to squeak past ID checks and make a $30 deposit. After a few months of donking around learning minimal strategy although my role seemed to grow fairly gradual I didn't go very far.

I then decided to take poker semi-seriously and studied LHE. I took great interest in the structure of the game and enjoyed exploring the theory of the game as much as I did playing. I studied to a level where I felt quite competent at the game having worked through the micros from ~10c/20c FLFR to $1/$2 FLSH building my first deposit from the initial $30 to ~$1200.

At this time I was 16 and in RL not having two pennies to rub together this was a huge amount of money. Given that I had put a lot of time into playing and studying poker, I felt like rewarding myself and cashing out a small proportion to spend. This is where I got too impatient as an attempted cash-out was blocked by asking for proof of identification, which off course at 16 I could not provide. My account was blocked and the $1200 I had work so hard for, irretrievable. O hands -600BB, Worst downswing ever!?

No more poker for nearly 2 years X(

:club: Starting Fresh :club: