Should I quit playing poker?

• ga11ant
      ga11ant
      Bronze
      I have been playing at party poker, on and off for about three months. In the beginning I played cash tables, and quickly lost my first 25 dollar deposit. Since I lost that so fast I switched over to MTT's. I think I placed in or around the minimum payouts a couple times but never made my money back. I also discovered sit and go's, especially the double or nothings, and again I would get some money but also eventually lose it. I lost about $200 before I earned my first "big money" payout. I placed 2nd in a tournament and won $300. I cashed out $200 and over a week I lost my other $100. Now this month I lost another $100 but placed In another tournament and won $100. Now I am about even (probably down). I have only just discovered poker strategy but I'm not eager to read all the articles (I'm probably to lazy to be poker player). So should I quit while I'm not too far behind?

(sorry but I rushed this post cause I gotta go to work, if you have any questions asked and I will respond when I get home)
  • 23 replies
    • purple16
      purple16
      Bronze
      If you are lazy and you have not avid interest in learning game, then better quit it. As learning process of poker never ends, it is not for lazy people. Except, you can read articles thoroughly and patiently and go on with you poker career analyze your game, find your flaws etc.
    • ilrasso
      ilrasso
      Bronze
      dear ga11ant.. :D

I think ur doin ok for a beginner.

As being new to the game, you should not expect to profit. You may, but probably wont. So your goal should be to have fun and get better, while making sure your losses will not have significant negative impact to your real life economy.

Learn about bankroll managment, what it means and how it applies to you.

Remember poker is very swingy - has mucho variance. Most poker players (i suspect) have had several "ohh its really that!! swingy" aha moments.