donkey71

• 8 replies
    • purplefizz
      purplefizz
      Bronze
      hi donkey71,

welcome to our beginner's school! hopefully you will learn many things which will improve your game. :)

smiles,
      wendy
    • donkey71
      donkey71
      Bronze
      Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?

My motivation for playing poker comes from the challenge it gives me. can i learn how to play better, can i figure out why i lose in certain spots, why can i not beat a limit im sure im better than. Why does suffering one bad beat cause me to lose several buy ins and the screen on my lap top etc ..etc I have been playing poker for 4 years starting with freerolls on ultimate bet and fulltilt to short-handed and now fullring on the micro stakes. i love the game ,im obsessed by it. My motivation has always been to become a better player it just seems to be taking an extremely long time.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?

My biggest weakness is patience. If i lose 20BB in the first 15min of a session then im certain that im playing terrible cant possibly win and should quit immediately. Other weakness are calling when i know im beat because i cant lay down for example Q-Q to a player i consider a fish on a K-7-5 flop and calling when i think im being bluffed even when i myself have nothing. As you can see my fear of being made to feel like a fool is self perpetuating lol.

Question 3: What does it mean to play tight-aggressive?

To play tight-aggressive means to have a strong starting hand selection, to be the raiser rather than the caller and to make your opponents, who should by default often have weaker starting hands make decisions. To be the aggressor rather than the player tying to dael with opponents pressure. Playing tight aggressive then means a tight opening range, playing in position more than out of position and asking questions of your oppenents rather than the other way round.
    • veriz
      veriz
      Black