John

• zhengjohn
      zhengjohn
      Bronze
      Hi,
      My name is John. I've been playing poker on and off for about 3 to 4 years. I started in partypoker, and I lose about $200 to $300 there in NL10. Then I played with my friends at my spare time for a couple of months. I love this game so much that I searched the internet hoping to find a website where I can learn poker, and then I found pokerstrategy.com. I started playing again. I read all the articles from basic to silver and some in gold. Also, I watched some videos. I like hasenbraten's videos. I started with NL4, then NL10, now I play NL20 most of the time and sometimes NL50--all full ring tables. I think I'm up about $500 overall.
  • 3 replies
    • UPAY4DINNER
      UPAY4DINNER
      Bronze
      Hi John,

Welcome to the NL Beginners Course

I hope you find it +EV and become a better player from it. With loads of hard work and dedication I am sure you will reap the rewards and move up the limits in no time.

All the best,

Gary
    • zhengjohn
      zhengjohn
      Bronze
      Thank you Gary!

Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker? (Be as vague or specific as you want with this one, but try to think of all the reasons and elaborate on them.)
      The first motivation for me is the fun of playing. I like playing poker and I really enjoy the game unless I'm on tilt. The second one would be the reward of money. I haven't made a lot of money of playing poker but I believe I can do better by learning from my mistakes.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker? (What are the mistakes you know you are doing during your games? Are you playing while tired? Are you tilting easily? Want to see the showdown too much? Write as many as you think are affecting you.)