TenguTupiniquim

• tengutupiniquim
      tengutupiniquim
      Bronze
      Hi, I'm a brazilian noob player who started some 2 months ago with my starting $50 capital. I had no previous experience playing poker up to that point, and started playing $1 SnG Turbos on PartyPoker. Had quite a experience: won some 20-30 and then lost almost all the cash.
      Right now, I'm rebuilding from $6 on NL2 (back to $12) and reading a lot.
      I guess it's all right, since I'm a noob, but really want to improve. That's why I signed.
      Just hope to learn and improve my 'game'.
      Thanks.
  • 10 replies
    • purplefizz
      purplefizz
      Bronze
      Hi tengutupiniquim, (that's quite a mouthful!)

welcome to our beginner's school!
      everyone wants to improve in poker. i hope you will keep the determination to do so, even when the road gets a little rough.

good luck! glad to have you join us!

smiles,
      wendy
    • tengutupiniquim
      tengutupiniquim
      Bronze
      Hey, wendy, tyvm.
      Actually, it should be read Tengu (the proud yokai) Tupiniquim (it's an indian tribe from Brazil, but we use it like a slang for 'brazilian'). Pride is my sin, and sometimes I forget I'm human too >>

Well, homework time!

Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?
      Make money and the continuous learning process. I get bored easily, even from VGs, and it really seems that poker will be a never-ending challenge. I want to make a living from it: geting paid for a well done job and no boredom seems like heaven to me.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?
      • I've played too much on tilt (more than half of my losses were on tilt);
      • Call to light / Push too tight (on SnG);
      • Bad postflop plays (too passive / call too much 3bets);

Question 3: What does it mean to play tight-aggressive?
      TAG means play few quality starting hands when OOP and broadening the range a IP, always leading aggressively.