Double-paired starting hands

• DavidJMA
      DavidJMA
      Bronze
      Hey guys,

I recently started playing PLO at PLO10 and I was dealt QQJJds last night in one hand. I didn't really know what to make of it.

Of course, you have 4 outs x 3 to hit a a decent set on the flop and you can make decent straights and flushes, but you rarely have the nuts.

Still, in a 6-max game it seemed like a strong starting hand and I 3-bet it from the CO.

How would you play QQJJds, QQTTds, KKTTds, JJTTds, depending on your position? What's your rule of thumb?
  • 22 replies
    • fruktpuff
      fruktpuff
      Bronze
      QQJJds I'd likely 3bet, depending on the table I'd lean more towards calling the other three.

But then agian, I'm a fish :P
    • abyss616
      abyss616
      Bronze
      These kind of hands is always worth to play, because sets will be high, although the flushes and straight. And specialy if you are playing the tournaments, because in tournaments lots of players are moving all in, after flop only with overpair or two pairs.
    • Ribbo
      Ribbo
      Bronze
      Whether to 3 bet a hand like QQJJds depends on who did the initial raise.

If that person raises preflop more than 10% of the time then it's a profitable 3 bet.

If that person only raises 5% then you're likely up against AA or KK and should just call and try to improve or outplay villain.

However QQJJds is a super easy shove in a 3 way pot preflop as you will have great equity in this situation, so don't be passive with it if people aren't folding.

My rule of thumb is, if it can flop a huge hand, then it's worth being aggressive with it.

3456ss can't really do this, but 89TJss can.
    • GodlikeRoy
      GodlikeRoy
      Bronze