Kennethjeu

• 8 replies
    • kennethjeu
      kennethjeu
      Bronze
      Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?

I'm playing poker for a few years now, but it was only a few times a year with some friends live. Now I started playing poker online (this site helped me setting my first steps in the online poker world again after FT went black) more serious than before. I want to learn more about the game and make my decisions more because of the theory than because of the 'feeling'. While learning I want to climb up the stakes to get out of the 'retard-zone' and mix among the 'good' poker players.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?

The past few weeks I learned a lot due to the articles here and so I fixed some of my problems i had. For starters I really overestimated how strong hands like QJo etc are. Next I realized that position in poker is way more important than I thought it was. Etc....
      I do still have the problem of knowing I may not make a call, but actually make the call to see wether i was right or not! Need to get rid of that impulse asap!

Question 3: What does it mean to play tight aggressive?

Since I have not re-read all the articles, because I all read them in the past (some more than once) I will not be able to give a word-by-word definition of a Tight Aggressive player.
      I think a player who is tight is a player that does not play every hand he gets. He waits for the combination of the right spot and the right hand. 72o for example is a no-go for a tight player no matter what spot he is in.
      A player that is aggressive on top of being tight will be a active player (instead of a passive one). Meaning that this kind of player will often take the initiative in the pot. He will not give the opponents the opportunity of getting free (or cheap) cards for making their draws. Once an aggressive player has a hand, he will make sure the weak hands (usually) will not stay in the hand for long.