Call 20 rule

    • Krishjanis
      Krishjanis
      Bronze
      Joined: 04.01.2010 Posts: 977
      Grabbed by Holdem Manager
      NL Holdem $0.02(BB) Replayer
      SB ($1.94)
      BB ($2.72)
      UTG ($1.97)
      UTG+1 ($0.53)
      UTG+2 ($1.97)
      Hero ($2.13)
      BTN ($1.86)

      Dealt to Hero 4:diamond: 4:heart:

      fold, UTG+1 calls $0.02, fold, Hero calls $0.02, fold, fold, BB raises to $0.14, UTG+1 calls $0.12, Hero calls $0.12

      FLOP ($0.43) 4:club: 3:heart: 9:heart:

      BB checks, UTG+1 bets $0.39 (AI), Hero calls $0.39, BB raises to $2.58 (AI), Hero calls $1.60 (AI)

      TURN ($4.80) 4:club: 3:heart: 9:heart: 8:club:

      RIVER ($4.80) 4:club: 3:heart: 9:heart: 8:club: T:spade:

      BB shows A:heart: 8:heart:
      (Pre 39%, Flop 20.6%, Turn 14.3%)

      UTG+1 shows K:heart: 5:heart:
      (Pre 29%, Flop 3.0%, Turn 0.0%)

      Hero shows 4:diamond: 4:heart:
      (Pre 33%, Flop 76.4%, Turn 85.7%)

      Hero wins $4.57

      My question is that after my limp I had to call 12c more which is 20x12=2.40$ I know that I had 2.11$ left in my stack and the raiser had 2.58$ so by the call 20 rule he is cool. But I had to get 29c more to call and the pot was already 31c so if I count it towards my pot I get 2.42$ and so we both have 2.40$ to make the call 20 rule. So does the call 20 rule work this way?
  • 5 replies
    • Scarmaker
      Scarmaker
      Bronze
      Joined: 11.06.2009 Posts: 152
      I have never heard of "call 20 rule" what is that?
    • Krishjanis
      Krishjanis
      Bronze
      Joined: 04.01.2010 Posts: 977
      Originally posted by Scarmaker
      I have never heard of "call 20 rule" what is that?
      It's from BBS (Big stack strategy) starting hand chart, where you call opponents raise with low pocket pairs if you and him have at least 20 times the amount of the raise, so that makes it profitable to call and hope to flop a set, because you flop sets rarely and when you do you want to be able to get enough money for the other times you missed.
    • doctorkgb
      doctorkgb
      Bronze
      Joined: 01.04.2009 Posts: 1,263
      You had one more shortstack caller before you, so you do have correct odds to set mine.
    • Jaissica
      Jaissica
      Bronze
      Joined: 10.02.2009 Posts: 1,385
      Think of it as more of a guideline than a hard and fast rule. There is nothing wrong with your play in this spot, especially given you are in position.
    • Tim64
      Tim64
      Black
      Joined: 02.11.2008 Posts: 7,670
      Originally posted by Jaissica
      Think of it as more of a guideline than a hard and fast rule. There is nothing wrong with your play in this spot, especially given you are in position.
      Yeah. Also, as doctorkgb said, Utg1 will be committed on many flops with 1/4 of his stack in already, so you can count his stack in assessing your implied odds.

      vnh, imo.