[NL2-NL10] 2NL: Playing pocket pairs with over cards on board

• worldanizer
      worldanizer
      Bronze
      Hello!

I'm a total beginner, and I'm having some problems playing ``good'' pocket pairs (TT-KK) when there are over-cards on the board.

What do you think about the decisions I made here?

(I had only 10 hands on villain, and he's been a 40/30 so far)

Grabbed by Holdem Manager
      NL Holdem $0.02(BB) Replayer
      SB ($0.92)
      Hero ($1.56)
      UTG ($2.65)
      CO ($1.55)
      BTN ($0.91)

Dealt to Hero J:diamond: J:club:

fold, CO raises to $0.04, fold, fold, Hero raises to $0.12, CO calls $0.08

FLOP ($0.25) Q:diamond: 4:diamond: 7:diamond:

Hero bets $0.12, CO calls $0.12

TURN ($0.49) Q:diamond: 4:diamond: 7:diamond: 9:club:

Hero checks, CO bets $0.12, Hero calls $0.12

RIVER ($0.73) Q:diamond: 4:diamond: 7:diamond: 9:club: K:club:

Hero checks, CO bets $0.12, Hero calls $0.12
  • 2 replies
    • Meemawuk
      Meemawuk
      Bronze
      With one overcard you need to make a proper C-bet. less than half pot is too small. Especially on this texture. He has a great price to call with Ad3s.

With 2 overcards depending on the opponent, I might just give up right there.

On this hand specifically, I bet ~0.20 on flop. Then check to him on the turn probably playing check-fold. He should be protecting Qx in that spot, and checking back any big diamond draw. He might decide to protect with 88/TT/Ad9x but those are the only hands you can beat and I dont like how JJ plays OOP on the river without the initiative. If he checks back, the river is close since the Kd got there. depends on his sizing for me there. On a river undercard that isnt a diamond, I'll almost always play check-call, unless he does somethign crazy.