Hand Odds

• bassyboy229
      bassyboy229
      Basic
      Hi guys, i'm not new to poker, but i'm new to taking it seriously and i've been teaching myself Pot Odds..

While i understand the basics of outs and percentages coupled with pot odds/betting odds; i don't understand the odds when you hit a hand, or pocket pairs (except 8:1 of hitting a set) or when you hit a pair on the flop, what's the chance of getting a set on the turn?

and when you have pockets, you work out the odds.. inaccurately, and they come out to whatever - 12% and the betting odds are higher than that - surely the odds say fold, but I have already hit my hand.. what happens here?

Would really like to learn more and more about advanced poker, and i'm a quick learner most of the time so hit me and i'll see if i can keep up!!

To Mods: move this if it is in the wrong place - Sorry!!

Bassy.
  • 11 replies
    • IngridN
      IngridN
      Bronze
      Hi there

Welcome to our community!

Let's get you out of the basic status :) Please read your ticket here and follow the instructions to get the free $50 starting capital.

I've asked Euan to come help you out with the odds calculation :)

Anything you stuck with, just give us a shout!
      Ingrid
    • EuanM
      EuanM
      Bronze
      Hey bassboy229,

Thanks for your question.

So you'll hit a pair roughly 1/3 times on the flop if you played every hand. Which also means any hand you do play, will pair up approx 33% of the time.

Assuming all your outs are clean, you'll have two cards to give you a set.

An effective scenario to analyze this, is when two players both have two-pair and one is dominated.

You have A6o, your opponent has A7o, you flop two-pair, while he turns a 7. At this point, you are drawing to 4 outs only, provided they are clean, you have just under 7% Equity on the turn. Your outs are any ace and any six.