6-max as a beginner?

• Alvan85
      Alvan85
      Bronze
      Hey everyone!

Ive been playing on and off for a few months and didnt really study much poker before now..

I consider myself a beginner, even though I have some knowledge of the game.

With that in mind would it be foolish for me to start playing 6-max tables straight away?

I just find the action going on, and being able to play more hands much more fun than on full-ring tables.

I had a look in the beginners-course and got somewhat discourage when I found that all of it is mostly about full-ring :(
      Is it really a necessary thing to start out on fullring tables when youre learning the strategy? Or if I know im going to play 6-max later on anyways, wouldnt it be best to just read up on tactics for 6-max instead?

Thanks in advance!
  • 8 replies
    • Justin37
      Justin37
      Bronze
      Well this site does not encourage beginner to start the 6max table for a very obvious reason.

1. U need to play WIDE range of hand compare to 9max
      2. blind is fast so every 6 hands, u are going to pay the blind fast

Ya it is fun, n if u are good at it, play it...
    • Alvan85
      Alvan85
      Bronze
      Define "good" ;)

Im not winning in poker yet, neither at full ring nor 6-max.
      I had a good run at first, then the lack of knowledge of poker theory / tilt caught up with me and I reduced my bankroll by 50%

But.. in my opinion the 6-max style of play fits my style of play alot more than fullring.
    • kenthmp
      kenthmp
      Bronze
      Get a hand chart for 6max. Please note that SHC for 6max is more dynamic (ranges changes based on targeted villains) than FR. And don't tilt.
    • esuohdla
      esuohdla
      Bronze
      Play what you enjoy, if you dont enjoy fullring your volume and play there will suck in comparison to if you played 6max
    • Justin37
      Justin37
      Bronze
      Define good?