Toteatoo

• toteatoo
      toteatoo
      Bronze
      Hi everybody!
      Let me introduce myself. My name is Tomas (my nick on pokerstrategy is toteatoo) and I am 24 years old. I am completely new to poker, I have just signed up on pokerstrategy.com and partypoker.com last week. I work as a private teacher of mathematics, physics and statistics - I want to fully leverage my knowledge of math, especially statistics and probability.

I have completed the test on pokerstrategy.com and received starting capital. I was too busy since then, so I have only tried some freerolls with BSS and have won my first money.

I am from Czech republic and pokerstrategy.com does not have structured course like this in Czech language, therefore I have browsed english version of pokerstrategy.com and have found this course. So it's time to begin...
  • 24 replies
    • toteatoo
      toteatoo
      Bronze
      Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?

First of all I want to discover theory, probability and statistics behind poker - as I have written in my first post, I teach math, probability and statistics and I find poker very interesting as subject of inquiry. I have calculated some basic probabilities of some hands and draws, but then I have read some articles about poker and found that there are different hand ranges in different positions and it was very interesting. When I am teaching, I need good examples and probabilities in poker are the best exercises for my students.

I must admit, that also decent money in poker might be strong motivation for future progress. When I have read in news that Martin Staszko (also from Czech republic) was second on WSOP I was curios, if this is only coincidence (Czech republic is small) of if it is possible to have edge. So I have started reading some articles about poker and found out that it is really possible to be statistically better than other players.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?